Poem: Daily resurrections

Daily resurrections

“…that your passion may live through its own daily resurrection, and like the phoenix rise above its own ashes.” ~Khalil Gibran

“I must fight with what little strength I have, for the revolution.  The only real reason worth living.”  -Frida Kahlo

seedlings
take hold to delicate earth
words carve images on empty sheets of verse
the house holds musty
the smell of baking bread
there are three new
poems in the world today
that weren’t here before

I wish
I had more strength
the sap sucked from my limbs
by birds of prey
I lie here before the next attack
and prepare my quiet insurrection

each
breath I take is manifesto
against the huge machine
we have yet to dismantle

I wait
for when we can plan the uprising
the birds picking at my heart
taste the bitterness of my tenacity
if you looked into my eyes
you would see clarity

hope
disguised as tears
to fool the vultures

Leave a Reply

