My Travels with Charley: Boston or Bust Part V

My Travels with Charley: Boston or Bust Part V
Delhi, Bovina and Woodstock
The nearest town to Bovina, is Delhi, N.Y. which we found easily and then Bovina Center, both rather pristine and relatively unmalled.  (Delhi has a Rite Aid and a McDonalds outside the main part of town, and a new supermarket in town, but aside from that, it looked very much the same as it had 40 (40!!!) years ago.  There was a sushi restaurant and a pagan new age crystal store which were new, The five and dime where we bought penny candy and balsa wood, rubber band toy airplanes was gone.  The hardware store was still there.

A rainy day in Delhi, my sister, my brother and me, circa 1965_photo by Al Loeb @ 2006 All Rights Reserved
Bovina Center was untouched, including Russell’s general store, which I used to ride my bike to.  It was about three miles from the farm, and I tried to remember my way back, but couldn’t.

Russells General Store Circa 1968 Photo by Al Loeb_©2006 all rights reserved

Emma in front of Russels General Store 2006. Photo by Andy Griggs @2006 All rights reserved

Russells through the window ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved
The resort, known as Red Pine Farm, was also a dairy farm.  It was essentially a bed and breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Families would rent out one or two rooms for a week or two and spend time, up from the city, resting, swimming, hiking, collecting berries, catching tadpoles, frogs and salamanders in the pond, building dams in the stream with the slate rocks that cover the region (glacial debris) tagging monarch butterflies, going on hay rides, visiting Cooperstown’s Farm Museum or the Baseball Hall of Fame, visiting maple sugar farms or watching the cows get milked.  It was an amazing place, not a corporate vacation, but a small family business with soul and heart. The first year we went, several families were there from New York.  They had children the same ages as my siblings and me, and my parents are still friends with them to this day.  We vacationed with them every summer.  Down the road from the farm was a small. one room school house, no longer in use, always locked, but well maintained, and a small creek that was the very beginning of the Delaware River.  It wasn’t until I realized that we would be near enough to visit and perhaps find this farm that I understood how important it had been to me; more important than visiting college haunts, maybe even more important that the home I grew up in.
We had gone to the farm every August, driving for five hours from Philadelphia, our bikes strapped to the roof of the car,  until the Linggs, who owned it, sold it in the late sixties, to of all people; Bob Denver (aka Gilligan of Gilligan’s Island.)  My parents stayed in touch with the Lingg daughter, Joanie for many years.
We spent about an hour trying to find the farm, but I had forgotten the way and didn’t have an address.  I almost gave up, and Andy, with hours of driving ahead of us, was so patient.  Finally we asked a local farmer if she knew where the farm was, that it had been the Lingg farm also known as Red Pine Farm and then Bob Denver’s farm.  She gave us directions, and ten minutes later I was standing on the road in front of the large farm house.  It was now the Shuman farm; still had dairy cows.  I pointed to the room we had stayed in, the garage we had practiced plays in, the pool, the pond and the building where the dining hall had been.

Red Pine Farm circa 1967 Photo by Al Loeb ©2006 All Rights Reserved (The view from up on the mountain, taken during a hike, collecting berries.)

Shuman Farm 2006 Taken from the road.  ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

Shuman Farm 2006   ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

The road to the milking barn circa 1967.  Photo by Al Loeb ©2006 All Rights Reserved_My sister, my mother, me and by brother

The road to the milking barn ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

The Barn 2006 (As seen from the house.) ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved
I took pictures, then we went down the road and found the school house, still locked, still maintained. the little Delaware and the barn full of cows.

The Old School House ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

The Old School House ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

The Old School House ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved

…..
         
The Little Delaware ©2006 Emma Rosenthal All Rights Reserved
Two roles of film later, we left to get back on the road.  We had dinner in Woodstock and arrived in Chicopee late, crashing in a Motel 6 outside of a truck stop and a fifties diner.

27 responses to “My Travels with Charley: Boston or Bust Part V

  1. emmarosenthal

    This one? https://www.facebook.com/RedPineFarm/?fref=ts Yes, I’ve liked it already.

  2. Make sure you visit the Facebook Page I started, called Red Pine Farm!
    Charlie Leunig

  3. Wow! A “thank you!” from one more person who vacationed at Red Pine Farm in the 1960! The last week in August, 1963-1968 – until my parents split up and we stopped taking vacations. We rented a car from the City, drove five hours to get there. Your pictures are so “right on!” – I remember that garage near the pool, with a soda machine where I would buy grape sodas (do they exist any more?). I loved the cows, the one-room schoolhouse, long days with my roaming over the hill picking blackberries, filling old coffee cans with them. Then breakfasts of hot cereal with blackberries, and taking cans and cans of berries back to the city at the end of the week. I’ve never been able to enjoy cultivated blackberries since then! For years (as a child and teen-ager, not an adult!) I actually carried a photo of a cow from “the Farm” as we called it in my wallet, and I’ve always thought they are lovely. I don’t remember Russels, though I’m sure we went there. I do remember leaving to head back to the city, and looking for the first red leaves on the trees, which confirmed that summer was really over.

    Our family did stay in touch with other families we met there – the Einsons, the Corrados, that I remember. My mom was friends with Mrs. Einson throughout Mrs. Einson’s life. Though my sister and I don’t see them any more, with the wonders of technology we are now facebook friends with the daughter whom we played with as children at the farm.

    It was a great place.

  4. stuart MacKenzie

    I just found this page, Norm’s story of Henry brings back many memories of Red Pine Farm. My brothers lived there, with Jean Denver and her many visitors. Gilligan was not around then. I have many very clear memories of the place, the cheetahs, the codi Mundi, Henry of course. Some of the bands coming through to pick up leather goods that Jean, jamie and company use to make. I believe it was Harley that was still there then. I remember helping him feed the cheetahs, with live chickens. Lots of Horseback riding, and I think the dog’s name was Fannie.

  5. jeri greenberg aka graubert

    this is such a wonderful blog to read!. my family also traveled from brooklyn by cab to the port authority for the long three hr bus ride, where mr lingg or joanie would pick us up..How exciting to stay in the Ivy Room on the second floor with the terrace overlooking the pool~ or to get eggs straight from the hens, in the little bldg next to the pool.

    Harley was always wonderful to us kids, even taking us on the tractor occasionally.

    Great memories, of milking the cows, and of even helping birth a calf when the mama sat down in the middle of the road to start delivering…

    and oh yes, to be chosen to ring the dinner bell!!!!
    jeri

  6. Charles Leunig

    To Robert Van Benthuysen:

    I have an old black and white Polaroid photo of me, my brother and my friend Ed Morvillo from 1967. We are on the front lawn posing with our rifles. I’m wondering if this may be the photo you have. Reach me at Charlie Leunig

  7. Charles Leunig

    We went to the Red Pine Farm each summer starting in 1961 and right up until it was sold. We didn’t know at the time that the buyer was Bob Denver; all we knew was that our beloved farm was no more. Great memories everyone has here. Over the years going there, my family became friends with several other families and we would meet there the same week every summer. Our parents and the families also socialized beyond the farm and stayed close throughout the years.

    I vividly remember the dinner bell and the treat it was to be chosen to ring it, Elvis the border collie who chased cars (I understand he was hit several times), milking cows in the dairy barn, hayrides around Cape Horn, the house on Cape Horn covered in ivy, going to Russell’s to get just about anything (including ammunition for the guns our fathers brought up to the farm for target shooting), catching frogs in what we called the “poison pond,” the parents all gathering for their cocktail hour on the porch, in someone’s room, or even right out on the front lawn! Harley was the name of the farmhand who was missing his teeth. You could barely understand him, but he was a nice guy. I also remember during the last year or two, Mr. Linng opened up a snack bar in the building next to the Hill House (across from the dairy barn) and then eliminated lunch at the main house. I remember all of the parents we were with being angry and then going out and buying a cheap charcoal barbecue to cook hot dogs and hamburgers on every day for lunch. I can see it as clear as day, right on the lawn next to the hill house.

    My family just returned from a Labor Day trip to the Catskills, where we stayed at the Winter Clove inn in Round Top, which is the place we discovered in 1969 when we could no longer go to the “Farm.” We were there this weekend with one of the original “Farm” families and decided to take a side trip to Bovina Center to check out the farm and recreate some old pictures. We got to the farm and were met by the family of one of the Schuman family’s employees, who helps maintain the house. I told her we were old Red Pine people and she was very gracious in letting take some photos in the exact spot we did 46 years ago as children. I would be happy to share old (and new) photos from the farm if anyone is interested. Brought back some incredible memories that would be difficult to create today! Charlie Leunig, email

  8. emmarosenthal

    i’m sorry, i didn’t know the mcphersons.

  9. Hi All,
    What a nice walk down Memory Lane. My name is Bob Sluiter, grew up in Schenectady, and used to spend every Thanksgiving at my Aunt Stel’s and Uncle Frank McPherson’s , Bovina Center. They owned the large white home on the curve just out of Bovina on the Delhi side. My parents Adrian Sluiter and Margaret( Peggy) Hinckley grew up in Delhi, and married there too. I currently live in Colorado, and truly enjoyed all of your memories. Did any of you know the McPhersons?. Their two children were Mac and Marsha.
    Regards,
    Bob Sluiter
    Centennial, Colorado

  10. I was beaten up by a chimpanzee in that house. My dad knew bob denver and took me to meet him when I was around 5. He wasn’t home…just some nice lady, some big cats in that pen next to the garage and that chimp…henry

  11. Hello. I’m the town historian for the Town of Bovina. I write a Bovina history blog and am working on an entry about the various summer resorts Bovina had. Your memories of Red Pine Farm and the accompanying comments provide some great memories of the Linggs and their farm. May I put a link to this discussion in my blog entry about Bovina resorts? My e-mail is bovinahistorian@gmail.com. My blog is at bovinanyhistory.blogspot.com. Thank you

  12. My family also went to Red Pine Farm, from about 1960 to about 1966 or so. We lived in Brooklyn NY and had to get a cab from our house to the Port Authority in NYC, then the long ride on Adirondack Trailways. The bus dropped us off at the crossroads in the middle of nowhere. Then Mr. Lingg or his daughter Joanie came to pick us up, either in a pick up truck or a green ’64 Chevy wagon. The farm was wonderful, I recall the smell of the food, the warm summer days, the smelly pond with the frog and salamanders, and the hay rides. We met people that we stayed friends with for years there. We also went back in the summer of 69 after Bob Denver bought it, it was very quiet and different than it had been with young children running everywhere. We also went there once in the winter (66-67) and skated on the frozen pond, and went sledding on all the pastures. A wonderful place and we got there by accident, the resort we were supposed to go to the had burned down so we wound up at Red Pine Farm, lucky for us. I really enjoyed the pictures, it looks like time has stood still there…

  13. The McGinley Family

    We loved the Shuman Farm. Our entire family (7 children) went there many times in the late 70’s and 80’s. We would drive up to Bovina Center for long weekends since Mr. Schuman rarely gave my my husband any vacation time longer than a week. In addition, the Schumans were generous enough to let us stay for free since we were unable to afford vacations even though Jack made the Schumans millions of dollars as the VP for Sales at Propper and they withheld most of his bonuses over a period of 20 years. That aside, we have fond memories of the place and missed going after he was worked to death. I remember once when my son took the tractor out for ride and crashed it into the pond and then proceeded to shoot out all the glass surrounding the lighting rods on the roof. What memories!

    editor’s note: the farm my family and i visited was red pine farm. it is now the shuman farm. it is a real shame the way this family (above) was treated. -emma rosenthal, blogger– in bed with frida kahlo.

  14. Robert Van Benthuysen

    Hoping for someone to give me directions to Red Pine Farm.Visited there as a boy,lots of memories.I live in central NJ.Want to also experience living the memories of the farm again! The Lings have touched the hearts of so many people!God bless them! They were truly a special family!

  15. I am the sister of Emily Goldman, who last posted. She is absolutely right, the Schuman farm is the place we go to escape the chaos of our lives, and to be with the one person our mother was best friends with since she was a child. Even the drive up to the farm is relaxing, as the scenery is so beautiful and the quiet thoughts that go through your mind only seem to prepare you for the trip up there-as it is the most peaceful place in the world. Stories have been told, that the Rolling Stones used to come up there and hang out with Bob Denver along with their crazy animals. It is amazing to think such a serene place has had it’s day of..well, the Stones! Our mother loved this farm through her entire life. It is somewhere that never got old, boring, or uninspiring. Even though you have a break from technology it doesn’t matter, it’s the beauty, the love created there and the people in our lives that make this farm such an amazing place to go. All my love to my mom and her best friend, the owner Jane Schuman. Mom is # 1 and Jane is #2.. this place has such memories it’s truly, as my sister said- MAGICAL.

  16. Emily Goldman

    I go the Farm regularly still, as I am the daughter of Jane Schuman’s best friend, Suzy, and my family visited when we were kids at least once a year. Jane knows how much I love it, and lets me visit whenenver I want to. I live in NYC, so the drive isn’t too bad. It is a truly magical place, and these postings have just confirmed all that I ever imagined. My mom passed away recently, but she too–a city girl through and through–LOVED the farm, and I know she would have relished these postings too. There is magic there, there really is.

  17. Robert Van Benthuysen

    I think the dogs name was Elvis.Also I remember hunting for frogs in that smelly swamp in back of the pool.I was there with my sister and parents the mid to late 60s.Someday I want to take a drive there to walk the long road to the main house.Simpler times and we had something always to do there.I remember one time there were 2 kids I was hanging around with and they had air rifles.I have a black&white picture somewhere of them on the lawn at the main house.

  18. Yes, Ollie was the toothless farmhand that drove a late fifties Ford wagon. It was missing a few cylinders and the muffler. Whenever he drove up the hill it was quite a racket and the dog (I can’t remember his name) chased along. We called the manure ‘cow flop.’ It developed a hard crush, but once you cracked the crust, yuck! So many memories… Delaware County is still beautiful, but the patchwork quilt of farms is dissolving into brown as so many of the dairy farms are gone.

  19. Robert Van Benthuysen

    I talk about the magic I experienced as a boy at Red Pine Farm often.Never will forget Mr Lings hayrides after dinner.The Lings were very kind and wonderful people.I remember the time the stove burnt Jonis hair and her face just before dinner.I also remember a man that worked there, I think his name was Olie.They also had a horse on the farm that was crippled and a dog that loved chasing the cars going by the farm.The memories from that special place will always be etched in my heart forever!

  20. I can’t begin to tell you how fantastic it was to find this site. My family stayed at the Red Pine Farm during the summer of 1963. It was quite an experience for a 7 year old. I’ve often asked my mother where the farm was but she couldn’t remember. We stayed at the farm house across from the cow pasture. We met some kids our age and had a blast all week long. I will never forget walking through the cow pasture, stepping over the piles of manure of which we called “goulash” of all things. And yes my brother was thrilled to catch a salamander down by the creek. The pool up by the main house was not enclosed and I remember the birds dive bombing at us along the porch protecting their nests. There was an authentic hay ride one night and family style dining. I’ve always wanted to go back for a visit.

  21. Marge Gagnon

    I am the third part of the Three Musketeers mentioned by Barbara. Joni, Barbara and I were best of friends. I too spent lots of time on the farm with Joni and worked there as well the summer of 1955. We three graduated together from Delhi. I enjoyed seeing your photos, brought back so many good memories of my times at the farm with Joni and her family. It was sad to lose Joni so suddenly and so young. She was in our wedding as well in 1959 and we always kept in touch through the years. I’m so thankful I got to visit her in Florida a couple times before she passed. I now reside in North Fenton, New York, not all that far from Delhi.

  22. Barbara Ide

    It was so nice to read comments and great memories about the Linggs and Red Pine Farm. I was a local and Joni’s best friend through our high school years. She was, in fact, coming north to help me with the 45th reunion of our High School class when she had her heart attack in Hollywood FL.. It was a terrible shock as we had been in close correspondence till that day. Her brother George lives in Naples, FL with his wife Evelyn. My friend Margie (the third part of our Three Musketeers High School clique) visited George and Evelyn there a few years ago. I worked at Linggs the summer after my Junior year in High School. That was the summer of 1955. My name was Barbara Boggs. So many of the local gals found summer employment there and the work was HARD. In those days we were still washing dishes at the kitchen sink. Later I visited Joni there and they had added a new diningroom and modern facilities. Back in the early 30’s my mother worked at the farm when it belonged to the McFarlands. It was a dairy and gardening farm at that time. This is where my mother met my father, a local farmer’s son. So much history for all of us and it was such fun to reconnect with others who have a warm feeling for that lovely area. I live in Hiawassee, GA now. The scenery here is very much like there, but the winters are so much warmer.

  23. Donna Weber

    Thanks for the wonderful memories. I was born and raised in Bovina. My grandfathers farm was at the end of Boggs Road. My Aunt Mary Parsons worked at Linggs in the summer. I now am married to a Dairy Farmer at the end of Crescent Valley Road. Russells Store was our pantry as we moved to town when my Grandfather died of cancer in 1962.

  24. matthew pelletier

    grew up in bovina. dad taught at suny delhi. hung out as a lad with 5 kids from 2 denver marriages.please, oh please post more photos of bovina in the 60’s. thanks ten million!

  25. steve weinreich

    You must have experienced the same feelings as I.
    I went to the Linggs when I was 16. My wife Elise worked summers there, cleaning the rooms. Her family followed. And, so did I. We married and I spent my summer vacations with my wife Elise and our 2 children in Bovina Center. When Denver bought the place we continued going to Bovina and stayed at The Mountainbrook Chalet. But, we always took the trip around the horn. Passing the little school house, the silo, barn and walked the same roads. We also fished the Little Delaware every time we were there. Every trip started with a trip to Russels, the candy store where a popsicle was 5 cents and there were loads of penny candy My wife always spent 10-15 minutes speaking with Mrs. Russel. Our best times and memories are also there. Including our trip to Delhi, Andes and Margaretville,where the Galli Cucchi (sp) movie theatre was. We mostly went the week of July 4th because there were these wonderful fireworks and a carnival. We were just in Bovina iin July
    I am sure you already heard from my sister-in law, Joyce. (she sent me your photos) Nice to meet you. We live in Old Bridge,NJ. and now have 4 grad children. It’s been a wonderful life. I am glad to have just shared a part of it with you.
    Steve

  26. Hi – I googled “Red Pine Farm,” and, imagine my surprise, when your description and picture showed up.
    I too traveled to “the farm,” with my family every summer, from the 1953 when I was 2, until I was 17 – when it was sold.
    My family, last name “Schneider” went in mid-late July, so I guess we never met.
    After the Ling’s left for Florida, my family stayed at a nearby place called “Mountainbrook Chalet,” nothing like “the Farm,” but we loved the area so much. I stopped going a few years later until About 5 years ago, when I took a journey back, for the memories. My experience was so like what you describe here.
    Sadly, Joanie passed away about 3 years ago – like her parent’s before her, it was a sudden heart attack. At the time, she was about to head up to Bovina for an elementary school reunion. I don’t know about her brother George.
    The memories stay though and those summer week’s defined my childhood. I too walked and/or hitched to Russell’s for my afternoon fudgsicle. I still remember the wonderful, warmth and freedom I felt when there, not to mention the hearty German meals, followed by homemade desserts. Ringing the dinner bell, while walking up the road, was a privilege like no other. To this day, the sound of clanging dishes in a restaurant takes me back to early mornings walking in to breakfast in the cool morning mist.
    The men staying up late to play cards, while the women chatted and Wand Ling coming down in her robe late in the evening, to dish out leftover chocolate pudding to the kids.
    Since that trip back 5 years ago, I go every summer – even if just for the day.
    So – hi Alice – from a fellow member of the “I loved Red Pine Farm,” fan club.

  27. Em,
    Want to put on a show?
    Love, Alice

Leave a Reply

