Travels with Charley: hiking trails

I used to hike a lot.  If  you were lost on one of the trails  on the South  face of the San Gabriel Mountains and you  met me on the trail, you we’re  home safe.  I went through new brakes on my car several times a year just getting up the road to Chantry Flats.  I hiked six to ten miles a week, often taking in a three mile butt cruncher after a full day’s work.  After i became ill I would walk in my neighborhood and at the park with my dog, Sally.  I would walk three to six miles a week on flat, easy paths, or occasionally took in the easy hike in Monrovia Canyon that take you to a gentle waterfall.  I saw a deer on that trail only a few years ago.  It walked right past me.  For the past year and a half, especially since my car accident last Spring, but also due to all of the stressors in my life last year, I haven’t been able to walk much at all.  Just getting through a store without a scooter is physically overwhelming.
Enter Charley!!!!!
Today I googled hiking + “wheelchair” + “Southern California” and found the following link.  I can’t wait to hit the trails!!!!!__http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/6295/hike.htm

Leave a Reply

