BBC NEWS | Health | Feeling grumpy is good for you

When I “think positive” I get in a lot more trouble, than when I am prepared for the obstacles that may come before me. As a person with a dis-ability (pwd) many obstacles are REAL obstacles. There are also social obstacles. The most humiliating experiences with dis-ability came when I was in the most positive frame of mind.

The constant directive to “think positive” is about conformity, about forcing the individual who may have very real concerns about very real social or personal situations, to behave in a way that makes OTHER people comfortable.

As social activists how can we begin to build a better world if we cannot bear witness to each others’ experiences or discuss unpleasant and tragic events and situations?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/8339647.stm

BBC NEWS | Health | Feeling grumpy ‘is good for you

One response to “BBC NEWS | Health | Feeling grumpy is good for you

  1. This was a meme I commented on, when everybody was doing pink ribbons for breast cancer. I wrote about this on my blog: http://salemmassblog.blogspot.com/2009/10/not-thinking-pink-sentimentalizing.html

    I hate sentimentaility.

Leave a Reply

